International Presenting Now: Collaborative Models, Practices, and Paths Toward A Sustainable Future

This roundtable conversation amongst national arts leaders aims to reimagine international presenting for a new age. While acknowledging the steep challenges faced—particularly post-COVID—this invited, participatory gathering will look ahead, exploring inspiring new pathways for sustaining and furthering global exchange and international touring in the United States. Livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network Monday 9 January 2023 at 11:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 1:30 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 2:30 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 19:30 GMT (London, UTC +0) / 20:30 CET (Berlin, UTC +1).

Organized by the International Presenting Commons (IPC), the meeting brings together artists, presenters, creative producers, and funders to uplift innovative models and explore new collaborative practices that emerged during COVID that can contribute to building a sustainable and robust ecosystem for the presentation of international work in the United States. The session, and the work of the IPC over several years, is premised on the belief that global live art exchange remains essential to the world, in particular to the cultural health of the United States as a whole and to diverse individual communities that presenters and artists serve across the country.

Moderated by Emil Kang, program director for Arts and Cultural Heritage at the Mellon Foundation.