Announcing the 2023 LTC Designer and Director Colaboratorio!

The intended participants for this convening are designers and directors who identify as Latinx and Latin American, especially those from historically excluded populations including Indigenous, Afro-Latine/x, Caribbean, and Asian-Latine/x.

Thirty-five participants will be accepted into the Colaboratorio. During their time in Portland, participants will be split into teams and have three days of uninterrupted work time at a Portland venue. All the teams will be working from the same script and their time in Portland will culminate in a day of presentations on learnings and the process. As a participant, the LTC will cover roundtrip airfare to Portland, OR, from any US city, housing, transportation in Portland to and from the venues, and shared meals.

During the five days in Portland, our goal is to document the learnings, discoveries, and ideas that transpire during our time together. This is a direct intervention on the historical lack of documentation on Latinx theatre and its creatives. Five individuals, scholars, and/or anyone interested in and capable of creating this documentation will be selected to join us in Portland. Each individual will be paired with a team that they will follow through their three-day journey of collaboration and brainstorming. The only current expectation is that the scholar/documentarian write or co-write a piece for HowlRound on the Colaboratorio and their specific team’s journey. We also hope to find different ways of sharing knowledge and to discuss this once we have a team.

At this time the LTC seeks participant applications for designers, directors, and scholars/documentarians. The designer and director application can be found here and the scholar/documentarian application can be found here. Applications will close on 22 January 2023 at 11:59 p.m. PDT.

Have questions? Take a look at our FAQ sheet. There will also be the following one-hour info sessions. Please sign up at this link to receive the Zoom information.

Colaboratorio Info Session Dates:

Thursday 15 December 2022 at 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 6 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Tuesday 10 January 2023 at 11 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 1 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 2 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Wednesday 18 January 2023 at 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 4 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

For any additional questions, please contact LTC producer Jacqueline Flores at [email protected].